U of T Celebrates the Second Annual HR & Equity Awards of Distinction

2019 Awards of Distinction recipients pose for a photo

This year’s winners of the HR & Equity Awards of Distinction comprise three individuals and two teams from across the Division of HR & Equity and Divisional HR Offices (photo by Tom Spence).

January 17, 2020

U of T’s Division of HR & Equity recognized the exceptional contributions of three individuals and two teams at the second annual HR & Equity Awards of Distinction Luncheon on December 11, 2019.

Kelly Hannah-Moffat, Vice-President, HR & Equity, was on hand to thank the recipients for their outstanding contributions to the University. The four award categories recognized HR community members who exemplified the values of the Division in their daily work and in their interactions with internal clients, and who achieved outstanding results overall by positively impacting the divisions they support.

Kelly Hannah-Moffat noted that the HR & Equity Awards of Distinction are special because the recipients are nominated and selected by their peers within HR & Equity. “We are very fortunate to have such hard-working, committed and extraordinary people on our team who support the University community and help all of our staff and faculty succeed.”

Following the lunch, Erin Jackson, Chief Human Resources Officer, presented the recipients with their awards. Erin Jackson said “At U of T, it is our people that are our greatest strength. Your work is essential to achieving the mission and vision of the Division and each of the Divisions you work with. Know that you are important members of our HR community and your abilities and contributions are an important part of our continued success.”

Meet your 2019 HR & Equity Awards of Distinction Winners:

This year’s award recipients included:

Jazmin Olarte poses with Kelly Hannah-Moffat

Emerging Leader Award

Jasmin Olarte, HR Consultant

For her ongoing devotion to her role in routinely taking on extra work, for having served on numerous volunteer committees, as well as mentoring four different HR Administrators. She demonstrated remarkable leadership potential and who has sought out opportunities for learning and development while moving into progressively more responsible roles.

Luke Pereira poses with Kelly Hannah-Moffat

Living Our Values Award

Luke Pereira, Learning Resources & Web Coordinator

For his commitment in ensuring the success of the LMS implementation as well as his role in the successful LLC relaunch, including the redesign of the LLC Website, all while continuing to provide excellent client service for setting up classroom technology, managing chargebacks, running the LLC library, and maintaining the registration system.

Kelly Hannah-Moffat poses with the Consistent JD Project Team

Distinguished Contribution – HR Team of the Year Award

Consistent JD Project Team

  • Alexander Nathan, Communications & Project Coordinator
  • Andrea Tirone, Project Analyst
  • Carolyn Wright, Job Evaluation Analyst
  • David Thivierge, HR Technology & Data Administrator
  • Laurie Torno, Senior Job Evaluation & Training Analyst
  • Lucia Katehos, Job Evaluation Advisor
  • Mary Kristen Taylor, Manager, USW Job Evaluation Services
  • Michelle Raz Taylor, Job Evaluation Analyst
  • Natasha Mak, Compensation Consultant
  • Timothy Snazel, Assistant Manager, USW Job Evaluation Services
  • Valerie Davis, Job Evaluation Analyst
  • Yashoda Jaipaul, Job Evaluation Analyst

For envisioning, developing and transforming the USW JE to process that was proactive, empowering and transparent for managers and HR staff from one that had been obscure and reactive.

Kelly Hannah-Moffat poses with the UTSC HR Services Department

Distinguished Contribution – HR Team of the Year Award

UTSC HR Services Department

  • Aliyyah Merali, HR Advisor
  • Celia My Lai, Senior Payroll & Benefits Administrator
  • Desma Charlemagne-Michel, Director, Human Resources Services
  • Disha Kapoor, Data Specialist and Academic HR Coordinator
  • Grace Eun-Hae Joo, HR Advisor
  • Jackie Bo-Yee Yeung, HR Administrator
  • Kirsten Campbell, HR Consultant
  • Louise S Beckley, Manager, Human Resources Services
  • Marilyn Kwan, Senior HR Consultant & Staff Develop Coordinator
  • Melissa Baboolal, HR Consultant
  • Sharron Cohan, HR Consultant
  • So-Kit Kwan, Senior HR Consultant
  • Sunny Yu Sun, Payroll & Benefits Administrator
  • Yasmeen Tafhti, Payroll Assistant

For holding their first-ever in-house Career Expo. The entire team stepped forward to help with the planning, organization and execution of this first-ever expo for UTSC.

More information about the HR & Equity Awards of Distinction is available on the HR & Equity website or contact the Employee Recognition and Engagement team at thanks@utoronto.ca. Photos from the event are available on Flickr.