Announcement of U of T Anti-Black Racism Task Force Members

This memo was originally posted to

As Co-Chairs of U of T’s Anti-Black Racism Task Force, we are very pleased to announce the names of those that will be joining us as members of the Task Force this year. We appreciated the very large number of nominations we received, and take this as an acknowledgement among members of the University of the need and importance of the Task Force’s work.

It was a difficult choice to select from among so many enthusiastic and qualified nominees, and we prioritized representation from among the main student and employee groups at the University, the divisions and campuses, and areas of expertise.

The undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral fellow, staff, faculty, and instructors that will be joining us as members of the Task Force are listed here.

Undergraduate and Professional Program Students:

David Allens, Faculty of Arts and Science
Alana Bailey, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Sofia Oke Quick, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
Debra Olaniyi, University of Toronto Mississauga
Aysha Nebil Mohammed, Rotman Commerce

Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows:

Ahmed Ilmi (Provost’s Postdoctoral Fellow), OISE
Travonne Edwards, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
Kadija Lodge-Tulloch, Faculty of Arts and Science


Mikhail Burke, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Denise Lopes, University of Toronto Scarborough
Andrea Burton, University of Toronto Mississauga
Mark Seymour, Division of University Advancement
Deborah Warner, Tri-campus/Community Safety Office

Faculty and Instructors:

Ananya Banerjee, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Robert Gerlai, University of Toronto Mississauga
Sarah Lynn Kleeb, University of Toronto Scarborough
Melanie Newton, Faculty of Arts and Science
Alexie Tcheuyap, Faculty of Arts and Science

There will be many opportunities for all members of the U of T community to contribute their ideas and recommendations to the Task Force. We invite you to visit the Task Force’s webpage to stay tuned for other consultation opportunities in the coming months. The Task Force will present its findings and recommendations to the President, Vice-President, Human Resources and Equity, and Provost by March 31, 2021.